PDA

View Full Version : ILR for Work Permit Holder

Terpe
26th August 2010, 14:03
Hello to all
I am a new member here so please be patient if I posted in wrong section.
My wife of 15 years is from Philippines. We originally met in Japan where I worked as a Engineering consultant to various Railway operators for the bullet trains.
We came to England in 2002 and my wife is now dual citizen. We have managed to find a way through many changing regulations to our status today. This even included getting married again here in England as our Japanese marriage documentation was not accepted for settlement.

I hope I can offer some helpful comments/insights to others.

As for now, I am asking for some advice on behalf of a good friend.
She is from the Philippines and has been working as a carer for the same employer for nearly 5 years. Her work permit will expire 2011
Last week she passed her Life In UK test
She wants to apply for ILR
This young lady is single.
Now to the issue. Part of the requirement for ILR for her status (work Permit) is a letter from her employer confirming her past and current status and that she is required for continuation in the same employment. She is concerned that her employer will not fulfil this and that she will need to return home. It seems that her employer has refused others in the same situation (for whatever reason)

Does anyone have any experience of this?
Is there any workaround?

The employer is a large national company employing care workers.

Thanks in advance for any help
I would like so much to help her. She is a wonderful lady and her family rely so much on her for help

Terpe

joebloggs
26th August 2010, 18:52
:NoNo:
she should be ok using a letter from her employer stating her start date and her salary.

Terpe
26th August 2010, 19:46
Thank you Joebloggs for you reply.
The biggest concern is the requirement for such a letter to state the employment will continue.