PDA

View Full Version : applying as caregiver in the UK

malditako
2nd October 2010, 20:32
my cousin in phils has been offered a caregiving job in the phils (direct hire) from someone here in the UK..she was reffered to the employers solicitors who's going to process the papers for her. however my cousin needs to pay the processing worth of 1,225 pounds and that includes employment visa of 205 pounds, resident permit 550, and work permit of 470. i would like to seek advice regarding this as this is a great amount of money to be given away and i dont want her to be scammed...

does she really need to pay that resident permit that soon? and what is this employment visa? :Erm:

Terpe
2nd October 2010, 21:21
gparry2007,
I hope that joebloggs will be online soon to provide advice.
I am not an expert on this but I can say my wife is a caregiver. Many of our friends also.
As far as I know you can only secure a job such as this (or in fact any job) in the circumstances you describe if you are offered employment from an employer who is officially and legally registered with the government to hire immigrants from outside Europe. Additionally, such posts must be advertised for any UK/European applicant.
I just do not believe this is a genuine job offer.
The employer my wife works for is one of the biggest care employer in UK and I know for a fact that they are absolutely unable to secure employment for anyone outside of Europe. Despite the fact that they have written to the home office specifically requesting permission to hire.
There are NO care giver company's in UK current able to hire from Phils. Period.
If the potential employer you are referring to is a private individual then this job offer is for sure a scam since they would not be registered to do this.
Do the research for yourself and will see the situation you describe is impossible.