PDA

View Full Version : Diy Electrics,(is there any electricians here?)

imagine
27th February 2011, 00:56
more diy than a hobby i guess.

is there any electricians here?
i was rewiring my upstairs lighting circuit, a simple task , i took my time as i had walls ,floors and loft boards to negotiate,
i left some of the work overnight so instead of connecting to fuse box that day, i connected to a 13 amp plug( 3amp fuse) at first i didnt bother to conect earth it being lighting, i noticed that the earth lit up my scew driver how i thought it isnt connected mmmm faulty wiring ? rolled out some more wire from new roll the same again even if i connected the earth, if i touched earth and negative with my finger while holding screw driver on earth it lit up even brighter, so i thought well it cant be faulty wiring ,,,, i know that electric leaks ,the longer the cable run seemed to be the dimmer the screwdriver was, untill not lit at all,
im a plumber by trade, iv worked with all trades but i never , heard seen,or noticed this before,

budding electricians , can you solve my puzzle , why ? :Erm:

Terpe
27th February 2011, 12:02
Sorry, Stewart I can't help. Wish i could. DIY electrics should be avoided at all costs
in my opinion.
Just can't see it or smell it leaking anywhere :doh
But the earth is there to carry current........isn't it.????

imagine
27th February 2011, 12:22
thanks Terpe , i dont realy like electric ,you cant see it but my god its got a hell of a bite :laugher:
i understand that like pipe with plumbing ie carrying gas, there is unotisable some leakage through the pipe itself, and the same goes for electric wire, but hadnt noticed this before on electric,
as a test using a length of cable from a roll, earth not connected to anything either end, it did the same, so im assuming this is the natural leakage, but kind of hope might find a sparkie to confirm this ,
any problems faults i guess would trip the circuit breaker,