PDA

View Full Version : How do you interact with 6mnth old son?

philphil61
10th May 2011, 11:12
sorry people

i'm new at this (as I mentioned in previous posts)

I'm a daddy stuck in UK - my only son 6mnths old in Philippines and I get little constant online contact

but when I do I'm struggling... I play peek-a-boo and sing nursery rhymes but then I'm lost in keeping him "stimulated" - yes I suppose it's normal feeling that I have "Am I doing enough"

anyone got any other ideas to help me just a little in interacting with him... please?

branno
10th May 2011, 19:22
phil,.. i guess wen ur distant from ur loved ones its hard to express a sentence thru key boards to ur partner yet alone a six month old baby.. i do feel compassion for you on that.
i think if i was in a similar role with a young baby so distant id send a constant supply of cards n books n things.. ur partner could interact thru on your behalf .. ie mentioning that daddy has wrote you, sent you, but showing baby nice picture cards or stories..

i worked abroad often wen my kids where young missing quite alot of their infancy..then my only communication was thru letters or if i cud find a pay fone and it was working..
i admit it was difficult for me but i did find a way to express myself thru letters which became stories for them, then they wanted more n more stories told to them by their mum...one of their favourites was the adventures of big brown bear..... :) even now some yrs later they still say heyy dad "tell us another one about big b bear".

i kno its not much phil but it got all of us thru some distant times...

Tawi2
10th May 2011, 19:50
Theres a deep sadness in your words mate,not saying that just for effect,i am saying it because I can feel them.I am sure several of us have been in your situation in one way or another,i worked around for quite a while,I never understood the value of time,I now realise how much kids need their parents,I really hope your situation resolves itself mate.