PDA

View Full Version : conditions of visa

dave65
2nd May 2007, 13:14
have to put my hands up to being a total novice in this area :Rasp: having been fortunate to stay in work etc so not had any dealings with the benifits system
When my wife was granted her visa i seem to remember something to the effect about her not have recourse to public funds, but i am not quite sure what the limitations of this are
for example in england if a lady is pregnant she doesnt pay for perscriptions but isnt this being paid for out of public funds :Erm:
the reason for asking is because we are now expecting our first baby but have no idea what if any help is available. any of you guys able to shed some light on the matter

LadyJ
2nd May 2007, 13:43
Congratulations for new addition!

She will be automatically entitled for free prescriptions and dentist check ups ie. fillings, cleaning etc. and this won't affect her visa.

In able to get her this certificate she will have to contact her GP asap and let them know she's expecting. Her midwife will support her and the unborn child through to her pregnancy and she will also the one who will fill up the application for free prescriptions.

Talk to her midwife or social service about what benefit you could get if you are in a low income.

And apply for Child Benefit within 3 months after your child's birth.

If you would like to know more about benefits and other help you could get for your coming child PM me.

dave65
2nd May 2007, 14:30
Thanks lady J we will be in touch
Dave

joebloggs
2nd May 2007, 16:04
yes and if your on tax creds, you might be able to get a social fund grant. but there is a strict time limit on it. so dont miss out, get some of your hard earned taxes back :xxgrinning--00xx3:

eljean
2nd May 2007, 16:59