PDA

View Full Version : Clueless and confused on citizenship for daughter

Zoewe
7th September 2011, 04:01
hello,
i am a newbie in here,i have emailed the VFS office twice for they haven't answered my query and they responded to me in general reply to visit their website....if any body here has heard a similar case to my situation?
my 2nd letter is this:

does my daughter have entitlement to British citizenship and a passport already due to my husbands nationality? We have a son together as well who is my husband's, naturally for which we can apply for a British passport already. But the problem is my daughter due to her not being a blood relative to my husband. But my husband married me before my daughter's birth and also he has taken her as his own child since before she was born and already bear his family name in my daughter's birth record.
In Philippine law a child born after marriage is regarded as the fathers, does this apply with British law as well? The reason being that the children wouldn’t need a settlement visa because they are already British if that is the case. Hope you can answer this query for me.

Does ADOPTION come in this kind of state?

Terpe
7th September 2011, 09:47
Zoewe,
You really need to be communicating directly with the British Embassy on this issue.
VFS are only involved in Visa administration work on behalf of the British Embassy.

You can contact British Embassy here:-

Ambassador to the Republic of the Philippines:- Mr Stephen Lillie

Address:-
British Embassy Manila
120 Upper McKinley Road
McKinley Hill, Taguig City 1634

Switchboard: (+63) (2) 858 2200

Fax: (+63) (2) 858 2237 - Management
(+63) (2) 858 2305 - Visa
(+63) (2) 858 2371 - Commercial
(+63) (2) 858 2313 - Information
(+63) (2) 858 2342 - Consular
(+63) (2) 858 2216 - Chancery

Email:- ukinthephilippines@fco.gov.uk

Office hours:-
Monday-Friday: 08:00-16:45

There really isn't enough information to give a definitive answer here.