PDA

View Full Version : I need some advice

Loner99
3rd August 2012, 03:06
Is Holborn Travel LTD real agency in UK?

I'm applying for a job as a nanny or au pair and one family wanted to hire me and they suggested this agency to process my VISA. The thing is the family never asked money for me and they will shoulder my plane ticket. I am confused right now if this is a scam or not. This is my first time to apply abroad particularly in UK.

Thanks and Godbless

Terpe
3rd August 2012, 07:29
You can be assured that it's a scam. Why would they want to suggest a UK travel agency?
If it's not a scam, then that family have completely no understanding of immigration law, so unlikely to be certified sponsors.

There is no way for an individual/family to have any influence on your immigration.

Please take a review of the UKBA webpage Working in the UK (http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/visas-immigration/working/) I'm sure it will help you understand just how difficult and regulated it is to enter UK legally for that kind of employment.

I would forget the routes you are currently following and switch to the established and legal routes, at least you'd be safe and not open to fraud/scamming.

Good luck with your job hunting

Iani
3rd August 2012, 07:46
I am really sorry to tell you this is most likely a scam, and if this is someone from my country picking on you to try scam you, I am very embarassed about that.

This makes me very angry when I hear about this sort of thing - and it does all the time.

Nannying jobs are not something which really ever come up in the UK, because it is near impossible to get someone a working visa for this role. If I remember correctly, they can only get this visa if the nanny has been working with the family long term already.

I am not making excuses, but I bet those responsible are not British nationals and are from one of two other countries I could mention - but let's not go there.