PDA

View Full Version : To be or not to be???

flomike
27th July 2007, 23:46
Hello everyone!!! This is flo I'm a residence here in UK but Im not sure if I want to be a British citizen? My husband said its up to me if I decided to but right now I still want to be a filipino citizen:Rasp: of course there's also advantages of being a Briton diba....you can go to any EU countries freely and benefits (not that im after for it) etc.. Well, let see in the near future may be I change my mind:NoNo: I know I need to take the test now:Brick: Thanks to everyone reading my post :xxgrinning--00xx3:

bigtombowski
27th July 2007, 23:50
I think it's just a case of weighing up the POSITIVES and the NEGATIVES . . . and seeing what is most important to you . . .

also . .. do you plan to both stay in UK, or do you plan to move away eventually - maybe to retire in Phils? ummm

i have no experience or advice to offer, just random musings :D:D:D

tom

joebloggs
28th July 2007, 02:09
as bigtom said, it depends on what your plans are..

i take it if you need to take the test and your married, your on a 2 year spouse visa ? .. if so, like you said you need to take the test :xxgrinning--00xx3:and before you apply for ILR, or if you don't you need to apply for FLR for 2 years.

whats wrong with dual nationality ? .. then your free to go and do what you want without any restrictions. ILR has restrictions on how long you can leave the country, and also you stll can be refused entry clearance by an immigration officer at the airport:cwm24:

hilda_danao
28th July 2007, 09:52
Hi Flomike!:)