Thread: Im a newbie so be gentle

Newbie (Restricted Access)

Im a newbie so be gentle

Im Mike from Scotland. I got married last year in Thailand to a philippina, Ruby. I want to go to the UK for the summer before going to Saudi to work. We can apply to settle in the UK later if we want. Can anyone tell me what is my best bet in terms of getting her a visa for a short visit. I want the least hassle least money option. Getting even a tourist short term visa seems like a big deal but hopefully thats just cause im a newbie.
    Mike

Keith - Administrator

Newbie (Restricted Access)
    touist visa is best option. Once in uk for longer your can complete FLR forms.

Welcome mike I'm a newbee too!!

this site is really good

Quote Originally Posted by JJC View Post
    touist visa is best option. Once in uk for longer your can complete FLR forms.

this site is really good
    WRONG, if she comes her on a tourist visa she can't apply for FLR, the tourist visa will be for aperiod of up to six months and at the end of that period she will have to go home. FLR (Further Leave to Remain) is for fiancee's. When they come here as a fiancee they get a six month visa to allow them to get married here in the UK. Once they have married then they have to apply for FLR to be able to stay here for up to two years when they then have to apply for ILR (Indefinite Leave to Remain).

Quote Originally Posted by mikeinindia View Post
    Im Mike from Scotland. I got married last year in Thailand to a philippina, Ruby. I want to go to the UK for the summer before going to Saudi to work. We can apply to settle in the UK later if we want. Can anyone tell me what is my best bet in terms of getting her a visa for a short visit. I want the least hassle least money option. Getting even a tourist short term visa seems like a big deal but hopefully thats just cause im a newbie.
    Mike